Thursday, June 22, 2017

Release Day Review: Hot Date by Felice Stevens (A Memories with the Breakfast Club Kindle World Story)

HotDateKW-1698x2700Title ~ Hot Date

Author ~ Felice Stevens

Publisher ~ Kindle Worlds

Published ~ 22nd June 2017

Genre ~ Contemporary M/M Romance

Rating

1c_thumb21c_thumb31c_thumb41c_thumb51ca_thumb2

goodreads-add-to_thumb

Synopsis

Once again, Julian Cornell is at the zenith of his career; not only has his designs helped the young men and women in the burn unit, he’s about to ink an exclusive deal with the hottest model for his new high fashion menswear design. Only his husband doesn’t understand how important this is to him and the model might want more than just to walk the runway in Julian’s clothing.

Nick Fletcher has never been the jealous type; he’s always been confident his place is right by his husband’s side. But now that Julian is about to re-launch his fashion line, Nick fears he’ll be sucked back into a world of beautiful people and wonder what he’s missed by being married to a less-than perfect man like Nick.

Leave it up to two meddling friends who think they know best to arrange a hot date guaranteed to put the spice back in Julian and Nick’s marriage, enabling them to remember that what lies beyond the surface is a lifetime of love.

 

Debra’s Review

Hot Date is a short story that catches us up with Nick and Julian from Beyond the Surface. It’s part of Felice Stevens’ Memories with The Breakfast Club Kindle World – stories by different authors that are spun off from her books in the Memories and Breakfast Club series. While this one will work best for fans of Julian and Nick, you could also pick it up and jump into it as a story of an established couple hitting some bumps. Necessary background is given for new readers, but fans will recognize all the other players in the story.

It’s been two years since the couple first reconnected and now they are married and still very much in love. With Julian’s business taking off again and him working all the time, Nick is starting to worry whether Julian has regrets about settling down with him. Nick still has some insecurities about his scars, but this isn’t the same old Nick we first met and he is determined to work through things and make sure Julian is happy. If only he could have Julian’s attention all to himself for the time it takes. Julian loves Nick, but he is also thrilled his business is taking off. He has a feeling something is bothering Nick and feels him pulling away, but Julian can’t seem to figure out what’s wrong. Thankfully their friends Zach and Marcus have no issues stepping in to help these two find their way.

For a short story we get an awful lot. It’s much more than just the hot date the blurb suggests. It’s actually a story about these two working their way back to each other when life keeps trying to pull them away. Having both Julian’s and Nick’s points of view makes it clear that they just need to air a couple of issues and to get some alone time together to reconnect. I struggled with Nick somewhat in Beyond the Surface, but here he had me with him from the start.I was surprised that I got emotional over Nick’s worrying. He is really trying, recognizing the issue and seeking help, even if he is finding it hard to communicate directly to Julian about what is bothering him. Julian loves and wants Nick as much as he ever did, but is clueless at how much Nick is missing him and how much he is distracted by work. Luckily, his best friend Marcus is glad to bluntly tell him what’s what.

So that was the emotional, but not angsty, part of the story. Don’t worry, there is still the hot date and hot sex that the title and blurb refer to. Julian and Nick have great chemistry and I love their banter. Their sex is fun and it was great to see them letting go and getting dirty with each other.

A must read for fans of Nick and Julian and a recommended read if you like stories about established couples working their way back to the passion and romance that started it all.

Purchase Links

AMAZON GLOBAL LINK

valentinovo-divider-gray_thumb2

Meet Felice Stevens 

Felice Stevens has always been a romantic at heart. While life is tough, she believes there is a happy ending for everyone. She started reading traditional historical romances as a teenager, then life and law school got in the way. It wasn't until she picked up a copy of Bertrice Small and became swept away to Queen Elizabeth's court that her interest in romance novels was renewed. But somewhere along the way, her reading shifted to stories of men falling in love. Once she picked up her first gay romance, she became so enamored of the character-driven stories and the overwhelming emotion there was no turning back. Felice lives in New York City with her husband and two children. Her day begins with a lot of caffeine and ends with a glass or two of red wine. Although she practices law, she daydreams of a time when she can sit by a beach and write beautiful stories of men falling in love. Although there is bound to be some angst along the way, a Happily Ever After is always guaranteed.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | FELICE’S FIERCEST | NEWSLETTER | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

2 comments:

  1. I've read several books by Ms. Stevens and have loved each of them. I'm looking forward to this...especially after seeing the cover...I love tenderness...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it then Diane. If tenderness is what you like, you should read her book Betting on Forever (The Breakfast Club 2) if you haven't yet. Zach and Sam are all kinds of sweet.

      Delete