Monday, January 09, 2017

Review: Worlds Away (Firsts & Forever #13) by Alexa Land

worlds awayTitle ~ Worlds Away (Firsts & Forever #13)

Author ~ Alexa Land

Published ~ 23rd December 2016

Genre ~ Contemporary M/M Romance

Rating

1c_thumb21c_thumb31c_thumb51c_thumb6

goodreads-add-to_thumb

Synopsis

Does love stand a chance between two men from different worlds, when they’re both being pulled in opposite directions?
Sawyer MacNeil is looking for answers. His time in the Army didn’t go as planned, and he’s still reeling from the end of a relationship that never should have happened in the first place. Now he’s trying to get his life together, while struggling to come to terms with a side of himself he’s always kept hidden.
Sparks fly when Sawyer meets Alastair, an upper-class British graduate student whose future has been mapped out since birth. Alastair can’t promise anything more than a hook-up. He doesn’t have much time left in the States, and a mountain of responsibility and a disapproving family are waiting for him back in the UK. And yet, whatever’s happening between them feels like so much more than a fling.
When tragedy strikes and the two are separated just days after meeting, will Sawyer risk everything to follow his heart?
Worlds Away is the thirteenth novel in Alexa Land's Firsts and Forever Series, but each book is written to stand alone, so jump in anywhere. This gay romance is approximately 98,000 words. Please note: contains adult language and graphic sex and is intended for adults only.

 

Debra’s Review

Number thirteen is not unlucky for fans of Alexa Land’s Firsts and Forever series. Sawyer and Alastair’s story contains much of the sweetness that touches all the series’ prior couples. Book twelve, Who I Used to Be, dealt with some heavy subjects, but Worlds Away definitely falls on the lighter side, concentrating on Sawyer and Alastair falling for each other and doing what it takes to make things work even if an ocean separates them.

Alastair doesn’t resent the expectation that he will take over the family business, in fact he is proud of the family legacy, the many people they employ and the charitable acts that are made possible by their money. What he does resent is the way his family expects him to change to fit their mold. They expect him to return to London when he turns 21 in a few months and to not only devote every waking hour to the business and family name, but to hide his personality and his sexuality. His grandfather told him he needs to marry a suitable woman and if necessary, discretely take care of his homosexual proclivities on the side like it’s always been done.

Sawyer allowed himself to be pushed into the Army by his father, who is not subtle in his disappointment about Sawyer not re-enlisting. Their relationship is tenuous even though Sawyer is currently living with him, but he has an amazing relationship with his father’s ex-wife Sherry who lives on the other side of their duplex. A bad relationship while he was enlisted has left him a shell of who he was. He has given up everything he used to enjoy and is just sort of going through the motions of life. If you paid attention to the brief times Sawyer was on page in the prior book, you probably know that he has a bit of a secret that involves feminine clothing. It’s a side of himself he’s always hidden, even from his closest friends.

Sawyer and Alastair have been nursing crushes on each other since they briefly met a few months back. Alastair finally makes a big move at TJ and Zach’s wedding. Knowing Alastair only has months before he will be moving back to London, the two agree to a casual arrangement that soon goes flying out the window. On paper they are as different as can be, but they fit perfectly and quickly fall for each other as they find they can both really be themselves around the other. In fact Alastair so loves the side Sawyer has always hidden it makes for some incredibly sexy moments. I absolutely adored Sawyer learning to embrace who he is and express himself even if others don’t approve and had no problem picturing his changing looks in my mind. We don’t get Alastair’s point of view, but it is always very clear what he is thinking since these two have no communication issues at all. Even the reappearance of Sawyer’s ex and Alastair’s disapproving family can’t really shake the foundation these two men build.

Alexa Land again works her magic, not only endearing the two main characters to us, but building up some of the secondary characters that have been introduced in the last few books to full-fledged members of the Firsts and Forever family. Sawyer and Alastair become a support system for Darwin, Elijah and Gabriel, all of whom I expect will have their stories told in the future. Of course there are a few new characters that will have you begging for more, especially Alastair’s bodyguard Roger.

Half of the story takes place away from San Francisco, but that doesn’t mean it’s forgotten! It wouldn’t be the same without Nana making an appearance. Although she has been toned down recently, she never fails to make an impression and her love still knows no bounds when it comes to her extended and always growing family.

This installment, more than some prior ones, would work well as a standalone since the number of recurring side characters is smaller and Alastair and Sawyer have only had small roles in the last two stories. While I love the emotional punch Alexa Land can deliver with some of the heavier books, it was also nice to read a no-angst story full of romance and fun.

Purchase Links

AMAZON GLOBAL LINK

valentinovo-divider-gray_thumb2

Meet Alexa Land

Alexa Land is an independent author of gay fiction and romance. Her character-driven books include the best-selling Firsts and Forever Series, set in present-day San Francisco, which is currently at thirteen volumes and counting. She was born in Southern California and has been on a gradual northern migration ever since, having lived in Santa Cruz, San Francisco, and now Oregon.

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | WEBSITE | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE

2 comments:

  1. Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed Sawyer and Alastair's story! <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome Alexa. Now I also have a whole new list of characters whose stories I need told. :)

      Delete