Saturday, September 12, 2015

Review: When The Dead Speak (Southern Spirits book 2) by Bailey Bradford

when the dead speak

Title ~ When The Dead Speak (Southern Spirits Book 2)

Author ~ Bailey Bradford

Publisher ~ Pride Publishing

Published ~ 31st August 2015

Genre ~ Paranormal M/M Romance





The only way to stay alive is to listen when the dead speak…

Sheriff Laine Stenley thinks he might just be losing his mind. Ever since he'd encountered the spirit of his friend's deceased mother, strange things have been happening. His sheriff's tin star keeps popping off, his Stetson tends to fly off his head at the most inconvenient times—and then there are the subtle caresses that remind him of a lover's touch… Something Laine has been without for years—since the violent murder of his partner—and figures to be without well into the future if he wants to retain his position as the sheriff in the small town of McKinton, Texas. Laine doesn't want to risk his career or his heart ever again, but he may not have a choice, not if he wants to stay alive.

A man who listens to spirits, Severo has come to McKinton to deliver a message of danger. One look at the sexy sheriff and Severo finds himself in a different sort of danger. He's not ready to find a man who can claim him heart, soul, and body, but ready or not, the attraction that simmers between them is undeniable—and irresistible.

Together, they will race against time, because something evil is coming to McKinton. Severo and Laine must learn to trust each other—and themselves— and listen when the dead speak.

Reader Advisory: This book is best read in sequence as part of a series but can be read as a stand alone.

Publisher's Note: This book has previously been published under the same title. It has been expanded, revised and re-edited for re-release with Pride Publishing.


Liza’s Review

The focus on this second book is on the sexy Sherriff readers would have met in book one of this series, Laine. Laine didn't have anything to do with the paranormal until he met Zeke and became aware of Zeke's dead mother who used to make her presence known sometimes. But now, long after Zeke had gotten out of hospital he seemed to have attracted some spirit action of his own.

Severo was compelled to come to small town Texas and saw Laine for the first time when Laine was helping Zeke into the diner. Having an uncharacteristic attack of nerves, he makes a hurried exit, even walking into a lamppost as he did so - that was cute. But Severo talks to dead people and he has to work out why he's been urged to come to McKinton. As much as Laine's sheer existence called to Severo's soul, Severo wasn't about to do anything about it - he already had the Sherriff pegged as someone who didn't play, and who would want far more than he was prepared to give.

But it seems someone wanted Severo to be with Laine, and it has a lot to do with Laine's dead lover, Connor - a man that Laine had loved and found tortured and murdered in his bed. Laine had never gotten over the loss even though the death had been three years before - neither Connor nor he had been out as a couple and Connor's death had never been resolved.

It was lovely to meet up with Brandon and Zeke again - their love still going as strong as ever. They are so helpful especially with Laine having to face the possibility that he could lose his job once the town learned he was gay. Now with a killer in town, one who has been fixated on Laine for a long time, it was hard to find a safe place for any of the three men to be.

New men come into town, the secondary characters in this book were amazing, especially Doreen. My heart broke for Rich and I can't help but wonder about him and Matt, but I know there are more books coming, so I will wait and see. Connor makes an appearance in so many ways - yes, I know he's dead, but that is the point of the book. Our loved ones don't ever go too far, and the love in this book was precious.

Favorite Line: "Yes." One word, three letters, yet it held so much power and promise.

Purchase Links




Southern Spirits Series

Book One : A Subtle Breeze

Book Two : When The Dead Speak

Book Three : All Of The Voices

Book Four : Wait Until Dawn

Book Five : Aftermath
Release date - 15th September 2015

Book Six : What Remains
Release Date – 15th September 2015

Book Seven : Ascension
Release Date – 22nd September 2015

Book Eight : Whirlwind
Release Date – 29nd September 2015


Connect with Bailey Bradford


No comments:

Post a Comment