Monday, June 23, 2014

Bastian’s Storm by Shay Savage ~ New Review

bastians storm

Title: Bastian’s Storm (Surviving Raine, #2)

Author: Shay Savage

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: June 16, 2014

Rating:

5 stars rating

add to gr

Synopsis

Sebastian Stark just isn’t cut out for normal life with a girlfriend in the hot and humid city of Miami. All in all, he’d rather be back on the island where it was just the two of them, and he could keep everything in balance. The bar down the street tempts him daily, but he’s determined to remain strong. Adjusting to normal life is difficult, but Bastian is doing his best to keep himself together and the nightmares away. Raine’s happy, and that’s what matters to him the most.
But not all nightmares can be driven away.
When Bastian’s former mentor comes into the picture and presents him with an ultimatum, Bastian slips into old habits. Though he wants to shield Raine from the truth, the shady circumstances of his past form into a hurricane he can’t control. In an effort to protect her, Bastian has no choice but to throw himself back into his old job – death match tournaments – just one last time.
Dropped into the arctic wilderness with weapons loaded, Bastian has to compete against representatives from major crime lords all over the states. He’s studied his competition, he knows their weaknesses, and he’s ready to battle for the woman he loves. There’s only one opponent in the mix that causes him any concern. In order to guarantee Raine’s safety, Bastian will be pitted against the key hit man for Chicago’s largest mob family – a guy who’s known as one hell of a shot.
A guy named Evan Arden.

Liz’s Review

YES!! Ms. 'Fiction With Teeth' is back and better than ever! Her latest and greatest, Bastian's Storm, more than proves that!

Now, to be fair, Bastian's Storm was NOT Surviving Raine. And, there's a very good reason for that. It's called character growth. Who knew Bastian was capable of character growth?! I was happily surprised! That doesn't mean there wasn't still much of the same man as we saw in Surviving Raine. A man can't change entirely, nor, I think, would we want him to. Bastian is still barely housebroken, still Alpha+, and still quite feral. Mmmmmm....sex-ay.

"Feel that?" I growled. "Feels so fucking good getting my cock up in you. You like that? Huh?"

"My head is fucked up," I told her. "I don't know how much of that is fixable, babe."

But, I think what was far more obvious this time around was his love for and desperate need of Raine.

"Tell me the reasons?" I whispered. I looked up at her and felt an odd sense of trepidation. We'd done this before, so I wasn't sure why it made me nervous to ask.

..."I love your strength," she said.

..."I love that you try so, so hard not to drink..."

..."Most of all, I love the way you love me," she said. "I love the passion inside of you and how you make me feel like the most desired woman in the world when I'm with you."

"I do love you," I told her.

"I know you do," she replied. She brushed her lips over my forehead. "I love you, too."

What I especially loved in Bastian's Storm was seeing Raine grow up and get a backbone. She stood up to Bastian, and she wasn't afraid to argue with him, to fight with him. She felt confident that he would never hurt her physically, and he was too in love with her to ever even remotely contemplate taking his violent nature out on her. They were a safe place for each other, and that was a truly lovely thing to see.

But, it's also true that those violent tendencies of Bastian's didn't just disappear. He had to work to find ways of channeling that violence, and, for the most part, he was able to. It was far from perfect, but it was working for him to a degree.

There's an old saying, one which claims we're doomed to repeat the past. This proved true for Bastian. His past reappeared in a number of ways and set out to pull him back in. The violence of the tournaments, where he met one Evan Arden, and the woman from his past who met an almost justifiable end, while leaving an innocent unprotected. There was much to be settled in Bastian's Storm, and, in true Bastian style, he did just that!

For those readers who loved Surviving Raine, Bastian's Storm is a no-brainer, a must-read!! For those who haven't yet discovered these books, do yourself a huge favor if you love edgy writing and characters and snatch these up ASAP!

 

Buy The Book

Buy From Amazon

Author Bio


dedc5d_eaaaece2e9ce79a59cc59865603afd37.png_srz_341_341_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_png_srz

Shay Savage lives in Cincinnati, Ohio with her husband, two children, and a variety of household pets.  She is an accomplished public speaker, and holds the rank of Distinguished Toastmaster from Toastmasters International.  When not writing, she enjoys science fiction movies, and loves soccer in any and all forms.  During the fall, she coaches her daughter’s soccer team.  Though she currently works in the technology field, her school background is in psychology, and she brings a lot of that knowledge into the characters within her stories.

Connect with the Author ~ WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

No comments:

Post a Comment